My Life as an Intern: Week 6

I had this idea this week that I should be blogging about my Adventures in Intern-ship.

So I will.

But the thing is, I had this great idea, and nothing really exciting has happened to me.

I sat at my desk and did stuff.

It’s kinda funny.  Everyone has this vision that interns are just errand people.  Maybe in some cases that is true.  The intern is supposed to stuff envelopes and get coffee and do all things awful that no one else wants to do.

I want to know where this stereotype comes from.

I’ve had to do none of that.  The closest thing to the cliche I’ve had to do is take notes at a meeting.  But I was given the option to do so.

I have become the master at commuting.  I am still awful at picking the fastest lane of traffic though.  Oh well, still lots of time to figure that out.

Honestly guys, it hasn’t been that bad.

I mean, I do get bored, but everyone else would while sitting at a desk for 8 hours.  Sitting at a desk is also EXHAUSTING.  I had no idea!!

One thing I love about the office I work in is the atmosphere.  All the guys work hard, but they also spend a lot of time making fun of each other, and talking about stuff.  The other day, we had a 45 minute discussion about what kind of music we listen to.

I’ve also learned quite a bit.  Mainly that the Google people are geniuses and that it is possible to track almost everything when you visit a website.  I’ve also learned how to use WordPress a little bit.  So that’s been cool.  I also like that my opinion matters.  If I have an idea on how something could be done better, all I have to do is speak up.  If I have an idea about something we should be doing, all I have to do is say what it is.  That is cool.

I was going to keep going about the crazy things that happened to me this week, but I don’t think I will.  I’ll leave this with just what I did at my big girl job this week.  I didn’t do much, just helped out to the best of my ability.

And that’s what interns are supposed to do.

Leave a Reply

