Boring

This evening at work, the closing manager said to me, “So, Mary, what’s new?

She asks me that every Friday, and every Friday, I don’t have an answer for her.

Tonight I said, “Absolutely nothing. I am possibly one of the most boring people you know.  I go to school and then I come here and then I go home.  And on the rare occasion I don’t work, I do homework or stay in.”

She looked perplexed and said, “That’s not true. I’m probably just as boring.  Don’t you go out? Don’t you have friends?”

To which I replied, “I don’t have time.”

(To be honest, I’m surprised she didn’t ask me if I have a boyfriend.  She has asked me before and when I replied that I don’t (and still don’t), she has looked equally perplexed.  But anyway, I digress.)

Sadly, this is partly true.  I honestly don’t have time for friends. I work such odd hours and so often that on the off chance I am free, it is 1045 at night.  And usually a weeknight.

Trust me, I wish I did have the time.  I honestly do.  But I don’t.  Someday, I will probably look back to now and wonder why I didn’t do anything ever.  And work will be the answer.

I make friends rather easily.  I enjoy being with people.  I don’t isolate myself on purpose.  It kinda seems like I do, but I don’t.  I promise.

After she walked away from me, I thought to myself, “And after the Olympics are over, I won’t even have an excuse to stay up at night and sit in front of my computer.  Then I’ll really be boring.”

Shortly after that, I remembered that the Formula 1 and IndyCar seasons are soon upon us.  I was a little relieved by that, but I’ve discovered that being a fan of motorsport is an awfully difficult thing to explain to people.  Yes, I do enjoy watching it.  No, they don’t “just drive around in circles”.  And, I disagree, it is hardly ever boring.

Hmmmm.  Boring.  Seems to be a theme here.

Conclusion?  I am still one of the most boring people I know.  And probably that you will ever know, too.

Solution?  I’m not sure.  Anyone have some friends they aren’t using that they want to send my way?  Anybody wanna be sports friends with me?

In other news (mostly because this has all been rather depressing and I want to end happily), I sat through a presentation by a guy who works in advertising this week for one of my classes.  He told us that marketers are simply storytellers.  Marketers tells stories to convey value to the customer.  Marketers tell stories because they can.  They tell the stories that haven’t been told yet.  Everything has a story, and marketers make sure that someone somewhere will hear that story.

After he told us that, I started thinking.  And I thought, ‘Wait.  I am a storyteller.  I am always telling stories.  Granted they may be the same 5 stories, but I like to tell stories.  I can be a storyteller.’  And that was when I realized that maybe I was in the right major.  It’s not that I was thinking of switching, it’s just that I sometimes have my doubts.  Learning to analyze data from a marketing perspective is hard.  Sometimes, it is so hard that I wonder if it is worth it.  But as that presenter told us that we are all storytellers, I kinda lost my doubts.

It’s going to be alright.  It will all be alright.

[That presentation was on Tuesday.  On Thursday, in the same class, two men who work at a staffing firm (in sales) came to talk to us.  I realized that I really don’t like sales, and that staffing firms confuse me.  Knowing my luck, I will end up at a staffing firm, or in sales. Yay.  But anyways, at least I’m narrowing it down.  Sales no.  Research maybe.  Advertising, PR, or Personal Selling sure!!  See guys, I’m making progress.  I still want to work in Sports Marketing.

Oh, interesting story about that, ps and btdubs.  A couple weeks ago, I can’t even remember who I was talking to or what we were talking about, but someone asked me what I wanted to do with my marketing degree when I finally get it.  I replied confidently, “I want to work in sports marketing, doing something with maybe PR.”  The person I was talking to looked pleasantly surprised and threw me a curveball I hadn’t thought about, just because I didn’t see how it mattered.  She said, “Really?!  That’s interesting!  Isn’t that a male dominated area?  They probably need some girls.”

Um.  What?  Whatever.  I hadn’t thought about the ratio of men to women in the field (forgive the pun) of sports marketing.  I had only thought about my love for sports and that I want to make that into a career.  Whatever.

Whoa.  This turned into a longer ending sidenote thingy than I intended. Ha.  Oops.  Let’s call this an adventure into Mary’s wandering mind.  Huh.  I guess I’m not that boring afterall.]

2 thoughts on “Boring

  1. Not bored by reading this. You are an interesting person. You do have friends. You do work a lot. Homework takes time. I think you rock! ❤

Leave a Reply

