The Most Wonderful Time of the Two Years

It’s coming. Can you feel it? Are you excited? I am.

Sochi. 2014.

I love the Olympics. So much. I love sport. This is true and is probably well known by now. Sports are exciting. I love watching and I love playing. But the Olympics I love for another reason. I love that, during the Olympics, the whole world kinda stops for two weeks. For two weeks, it doesn’t really matter what’s going on, all that matters is the medal count, and the perfect score, and the camaraderie.

I love that. The Spirit of the Games.

My love for the Olympics goes beyond my love for any other sport. In fact, in middle school, my dream was to work for the IOC or the USOC. I wanted to be involved at the games in any aspect. Didn’t matter if it was the Winter or Summer games. I just wanted to go. I still want a seat on the IOC or the USOC. I don’t know what it is about the Olympics that I love so much. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s the world’s stage, not just a specific country. Maybe it’s the fact that athletes that may be members of rival teams in their home countries forget the rivalry and become teammates. Maybe it’s the fact that everyone watches the Olympics and they all talk about it. We don’t all understand the rules to every sport, but if our country is participating, we cheer the loudest.

A couple years ago, Visa ran an ad for the Olympics. At the end it simply said, “Go World.” It was my absolute favorite ad for a long time. It still is. It made me realize that it doesn’t matter what country you are from, during the Olympics, everyone just wants all the athletes do well. During the Olympics, country lines seem to disappear and it is all about the ancient spectacle that is Sport.

Now, that being said, I do love Team USA. But my love for the Spirit of the Games is sometimes bigger.

I’m not doing a very good job explaining any of this. So I’ll just say Go World and call it a day.

(However, a sidenote. I have realized during these games just what a logistical nightmare outfitting Team USA is. And coordinating all the athletes. And everything. So hats off to everyone who works on that. Maybe one day in the near future, I will be joining you.)

Sydney 2000

Salt Lake 2002

Athens 2004

Turin 2006

Bejing 2008

Vancouver 2010

London 2012

Sochi 2014–Sochi, we are all ready for you. Let’s do this.

Go World.

3 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Two Years

  1. I completely understand what you were saying. Each person from their respective nation gets a sense of pride from watching their nation’s athletes because he or she is the representation of our country – the best we have to offer. There’s nothing else like it.

    Though I am personally a fan of the Summer Olympics more, the best moment, in my opinion, in sports history was in the 1980 Winter Olympics when the US beat the Soviets in what is now known as the Miracle on Ice. Every single time I hear Al Michaels on the broadcast saying “do you believe in miracles?!” I get chills up and down my spine. Though I wasn’t alive to see that happen, I could only imagine the sense of pride that this country was feeling at the time, especially in the wake of the Cold War.

    Take care and go USA!

    • I’m glad someone gets it! There really is nothing like it.

      Yes the Miracle on Ice. The movie, Miracle, is one of my absolute favorites and I absolutely love the last 5 seconds of the game. All the preparation of the team, all the hype surrounding one game, the tension through the entire game, and then the peak is the last 5 seconds of the game. Fantastic.

      Hopefully we see more history being made at these games. I have no doubt we will. Go USA!

  2. You are adorable! I know you are just antsy with anticipation. Remember to take a break from the Olympics for your school stuff! :0)

Leave a Reply

