What now?

CHRISTMAS!

The semester is over!

I’m not working this week!

I’m home!

Ahhhhh!!!! Happiness!

Christmas was yesterday, this is true.  It was a bit of an odd Christmas this year.  My mom was sick all day long, so it seemed like there was less fanfare.  But it was still a good Christmas.

I’m still listening to Christmas music. Deal with it.

I’m only home for this one week.  That makes me sad.  I wish I were going to be home for longer.  But if I had my way, I’d really never go back to Utah.  I like school.  I like where I live.  I’m tired of my job.  I’m tired of working so late all the time.  But that is truly exhausting.  If I really, really had my way, I’d be able to teleport home after I was done with class every day.  I’d just work here and live at home.  Sounds like a step backwards, but I think it sounds lovely.

At the beginning of finals week, I put myself on Netflix arrest.  I didn’t even really realize I had done it, but I just didn’t watch any Netflix at all.  I had studying to do, a house to clean, a job to go to, and sisters to get to the airport.  I had no time for Netflix.  But the funny thing is, I didn’t realize it was ok to take myself off Netflix arrest until I got to the airport to go home.  I arrived SUPER early to avoid all lines (which was most successful thank you very much) and then proceeded to watch 2 episodes of Chuck.  Fantastic.

Even then, I didn’t realize that I had literally no academic obligations.  It didn’t hit me until I got home, and I realized I didn’t have any books with me, that my backpack had my computer and Christmas presents in it.  It was a glorious moment when I realized I had nothing to do.

The first thing I did was turn to my bookcase and choose a book to read.  An actual book.  One without graphs and explanations of business.  Just a book.  I chose a book about King Arthur.  It has been great picking it up whenever I feel like it.  Sure, I probably won’t finish it by the time the new semester starts, but who cares? I am reading a book for pleasure!

I’ve done really nothing all week.  Like, seriously.

Yesterday, at promptly 7 PM, my brother and I parked ourselves on the couches downstairs and watched the Doctor Who Christmas special.  I’m still confused.  It was a good episode, but so confusing.  I guess that that’s Doctor Who and it will all be explained (maybe) at a later time, but for now, I’m confused.  And Matt Smith is gone.  And I don’t know how I feel about that yet. Hmmm.

But anyway.  Nothing new here.

Merry Christmas everyone.  Hope you all got to do absolutely nothing, like me.

Here are some things I’m looking forward to:

  • 43 Days until Sochi
  • 23 Days until Sherlock Series 3 (FINALLY)
  • 9 Days until Downton Abbey Series 4 (huh. didn’t realize it was so close!)
  • 79 Days until F1 returns (not sure I’m gonna survive till then…good thing there is winter testing!)
  • 93 Days until IndyCar returns (sad face. really sad face.)
  • 17 Days until the Australian Open (TENNIS WILL BE BACK. MUCH REJOICING.)

I can do it. But, wish me luck.

 

Leave a Reply

