Opera! It’s all over me!

Hey! Hey guys! I’m still here!

I’ve been a tad busy. School. Work. Repeat.

I feel bad. I totally meant to blog a lot more often when I started this blog, and I was doing really well, but then…

Anyway, I will be better about this.

One of the reasons I was so busy was because of music.  I play the violin. I love it. It’s a lot of fun for me and even though I’ve been playing for about 11 years, it still challenges me so I don’t get bored.

Worse maybe. Bored no.

But anyway. I was asked to be in an opera (of sorts), over Halloween weekend.  When I say ‘of sorts’ it’s because this was an opera, but it was also a rock show.

It was actually a lot of fun.  It’s called Deep Love and the authors (writers? What do you call those who have written an opera?) are hoping that it will one day be huge. I think they will succeed on that.

So opera, opera, opera. Three nights in a row, I was made up to look dead and then I played my violin for two hours. Fun, no? Yeah, it was.

But, hold on to your hats everyone. I played in ANOTHER opera (this one an operetta) a week later.  Well, like 4 days later.

That one was for school.  It was Gilbert and Sullivan. It was a lot of fun.  My mom came to see it. So did my grandparents.  That was even more fun.

My grandma was so funny. During intermission, I went down to the audience to see my family and say hey.  (That in itself was fun. Now that I’m in college, I don’t have a lot of people come see my performances.  But to have like half a row taken up by just people who came for me was great.)  I had made a few mistakes during the first half of the concert and I was kinda embarrassed because they were not mistakes I should have made.

Me being me, I just straight up asked if anyone could hear any of the mistakes I had made. My grandma replied with, “Oh, I didn’t hear any mistakes. I think you are playing perfectly.”

Ha. Thanks grandma.  I truly did appreciate that comment, but I thought it was really funny that she replied that way, I guess because it seemed so cliche.

So there you have it.  I have not blogged in a while because I have been buried in the pages of the opera.  But now I am free. And will return….right after Monday. When I have two exams. Back to back.

Puke.

Leave a Reply

