Daddy

Today, while I was waiting for the bus to show up to take me home from school, I decided to call my dad.  My dad is truly the best daddy ever.  Oh, you need reasons for that?  Well, I will put a few of them in a list!

1. My dad listens.  He always listens to what I have to say, even if it is what I bought while I was shopping or the trouble I’m having in a class.

2. My dad is really smart.  You would have to try really hard to convince me that my dad is not the smartest man in the entire world.  He just is, so deal with it.

3. He always supports the ideas I come up, even if they are a little far fetched.  He always thinks that the ideas I come up with (or whatever I tell him) is a good idea.  He always tells me to, “Go for it!”  I know it isn’t much, but it’s always nice to hear that I will have support in whatever I do.

Ok, ok, ok, I can hear you, you naysayers.  Yes, I have two parents.  My mom is also just as equally awesome and supportive.  But, no offense to her (because I love her very much), but this post is for dad.

So, where was I?  Oh yes, standing at the bus stop, on the phone.  Usually, when I call my dad during the day, I always expect to get voicemail.  He’s a busy guy, I know that.  I don’t expect him to stop working just so I can say hello.  But today, he actually answered!  Woohoo!

He asked me about school and how it was going.  He asked me how the weather is, and what I had been up to besides school (which is just work, and that’s boring).  He asked me all this and then he just listened, waiting for me to tell him what was going on.  That’s one thing I love about talking to my dad.  I don’t know if he does this consciously, but he just lets me talk, and I like that.

I told him that it is hot here today and that school is good, but the class I went to today was kinda boring.  I told him I have a test tomorrow, but it doesn’t feel like it is time for tests yet.  I told him all about work and that it is boring sometimes, but all my managers really, truly value me and think I am one of the best they have (which is always nice to hear).

He told me he was happy to hear that and I could hear it in his voice.

I told him that I have been thinking about declaring a double major.  Another major in Physics.  Why?  Because I want it.  Yes, a degree in Marketing will be good, and I will get to do what I want with that.  But I also really want a degree in physics.  Why?  Honestly, it’s not a very good reason.  I want a degree in physics to say that I am a physicist.  I think that would be awesome.  And I love science.  And learning.  And physics would be HARD, but I think I could do it.

Now, I didn’t tell my dad all of that.  I just told him the part about wanting it.  And instead of gently letting me know that maybe that wasn’t the best of ideas, he simply told me that he thinks it’s a good idea and that I should do what I want.  He told me I should look into it more and if I really want to do it, who cares about another semester or two?

That’s why my dad’s the best.  He supports all of my dreams, even the crazy physics ones (and he understands that spending a career working with color wheels and displays and whatever marketing Old Navy can throw at me would not be the most fun).

My dad.  The smartest and bestest daddy I could ever want.

Leave a Reply

